1. Mark Bartlett CLCSPRO
    Branch Owner, TWFG Insurance Services, Fremont California and the Greater Bay Area Representing Dozens of Insurance Carriers
    Is it possible to go to jail for not having auto insurance. Yes it is possible. Slim but possible. Usually your looking at a hefty fine unless you are either a repeat offender or are involved in an accident or a combination of the two. It is illegal to operate a motor vehicle without insurance.
    Answered on May 8, 2013
  2. 1265 POINTS
    Drew Delaney, J.D., CLCSPRO
    Commercial Lines Producer, Secure Investors Group, INC, Troy, Michigan
    It depends upon the state.  

    I can only speak to Michigan laws, and the answer is maybe.  In Michigan, if you are driving without proof of no-fault insurance, then you can receive a ticket in the amount of $200 to $500 and up to 3 points on your license. 

    The reason I say this might lead to jail time is if you have prior points on your license due to not having no fault insurance.  Getting pulled over and cited again for the same violation could land you in court and earn you some jail time depending upon the judge's ruling.  I know that is wishy-washy but there is no direct jail time associated with no insurance in Michigan.

    In summary, talk to a lawyer about it.
    Answered on August 7, 2013
  3. Did you find these answers helpful?
    Yes
    No
    Go!

Add Your Answer To This Question

You must be logged in to add your answer.


<< Previous Question
Questions Home
Next Question >>