1. 14231 POINTS
    Tom Sheehan
    Agency Owner, The Thomas G Sheehan Agency, 27 Glen Road Sandy Hook, CT 06482
    Most standard Auto Insurance providers when filing their underwriting standards in each state will include a provision to consider most minor moving violations within 35 months to 3 years from the inception date of their policy. Major violations such as a DWI for example may be considered with 5 years.
    Answered on January 28, 2015
  2. 37376 POINTS
    David G. Pipes, CLU®, RICP®
    Business Development Officer, T.D. McNeil Insurance Services, Fresno, California
    Auto insurance companies are regulated by your state insurance commissioner. The number of years that they can consider in rating a policy is different according to state rules. In California the company can review citations and accidents in the previous three years and DUI and racing up to 10 years.
    Answered on February 3, 2015
  3. 2777 POINTS
    Terry A. McCarthy, CLU, ChFC
    President, Insurance Associates Agency Inc., West Chester, OH
    We represent carriers who look back 35 months, others 36 months, some out to 60 months, and a few out to 84 months. Some types of violations are of interest to carriers who may only ordinarily look back 35 or 36 months. Major cites like a DWI, reckless operation or similar violations will earn you a minimum five year experience period. Some states like Michigan use 2 years for a minor violation and 3 yrs on an accident to match the State's driver point assessment schedule. Check with your state driving authority for law or permissible practice in your state.
    Answered on February 9, 2015
  4. Did you find these answers helpful?

Add Your Answer To This Question

You must be logged in to add your answer.

<< Previous Question
Questions Home
Next Question >>